The Copperopolis Community Center hosts its annual Copperopolis Homecoming pancake breakfast from 8 to 11 a.m., Saturday, June 10, at the Armory on Main Sttreet (O’Byrnes Ferry Road), Copperopolis.
The event is a celebration of Copperopolis’ 157th anniversary. Homecoming was started by the town’s founding families as an annual get together, picnic and celebration. In keeping with that spirit, this year’s event offers not only a traditional pancake breakfast under a canopy of beautiful handmade quilts, but also some toe-tapping live music by Don Williams from 8 to 9 a.m. and the Calaveras Jazz Band from 9 to 11 a.m. There will be a quilt raffle held by the Lake Tulloch Quilters of a gorgeous five-point star quilt in red, white and blue.
For history buffs, this is the only day each year that the privately owned Copperopolis Museum opens its doors to the public. This is a great opportunity to take a moment and step back in time, to a time of stagecoach robbers, gold miners and copper mines.
The museum features a carriage from the late 1800s, a large and interesting selection of seemingly primitive mining equipment, a scale replica of a mine and much more.
The community center also provides a self-guided walking tour with pamphlets that lead visitors through the history of old town Copperopolis, which lays claim to witnessing the infamous stagecoach robber Black Bart’s first and last robberies.
Saturday’s pancake breakfast costs $7.50 for adults and $4 for kids 10 and under. Proceeds go toward the maintenance of the historical red brick church (circa 1860s) and the Union Guard Armory (circa 1864).